Finding a community

” giving thanks to those voices who first spoke up collectively online that has normalized, and given space for adoptees today, to be able to speak about their entire experience, not just the script provided and approved by society. We owe them”

The adopted ones blog

What has helped me most with my deepest feelings about not just being adopted, but the unintended consequences that have played out in my particular story?  A community of adoptees who share similar feelings, questions, loyalty conflicts.  For me, nothing I’ve done has helped more than feeling I’m not alone in this journey.  What made me realize this now?  Recently, I saw a clip on the need to talk about mental health challenges by Howie Mandel, how talking to others going through the same journey of mental health conditions helps you not feel alone or weird.  That got me thinking about how having someone to talk to who gets it, whatever the it is, that isn’t there to judge (you’ll see what I mean later) has helped so much, so, that’s what spurred this post because it made me think about all the different ways and different aspects of my life that have benefited…

View original post 1,023 more words

Leave a Reply

