SOLITARY: An Observation from Within by adoptee Jesse Neubert

Please read about Jesse’s life and the conditions for prisoners in US prisons. You can also write to Jesse, address included in blog post.

lara trace hentz

Tamms SuperMax in Illinois was closed in 2013 – more prisons need to close

By Lara Trace Hentz  (Third Mom)

The following essay was written by my nephew Jesse Fasthorse Neubert. I’ve adopted him into my family. He first wrote to me when my article “Generation after Generation We are Coming Home” was published in 2005 about adoptees called Lost Birds.  Since then we have been in constant contact by phone and letter. Jesse calls me his “third Mom” and I am proud of that.  Jesse is incarcerated in Arizona, found guilty of armed robbery when he belonged to a gang.  He is an adoptee like me. He’s Lakota (Cheyenne River) and Dakota (Rosebud). He’s a good writer and contributed to the two anthologies Two Worlds and Called Home (excerpt.)

Until last month Jesse was held in solitary confinement.  He ate two meals a day, not three. He…

View original post 1,586 more words

Leave a Reply

