More KidLit for Grown-Ups

“I needed to be told as a child that my mother wanted to keep me but couldn’t, that I was not an object to be tossed aside lightly: in short, that she gave me up. Being told this made me feel a little better about myself and what had happened to me. And when I grew up and sought her out, it proved to be true, as it is surely true in the majority of adoptions. If that makes a’mom feel bad, she needs to damned well work it out on her own or in therapy rather than lie to her children. The last thing she needs to do is inflict her feelings on adopted children she’ll never meet by talking to them in the voices of their first mothers.”

Adopto-Snark

This snippet from a press release hit my email box this morning: While going through the adoption process, Anderson found a lot of books that talked about adoption but were told from the perspective of the child and the adopting parents. “There was nothing from the birth mother’s point of view,” Anderson says.

Well, I thought, there are actually several such books, but another non-AP perspective, I told myself, is always nice. The article’s title? Author’s adoption experience spurs children’s book.

Wait, what? Chil…? A first mother wrote a children’s book called Inside My Heart: A Tender Story of Adoption? No way. Snif snif: Damnit, I hate the smell of appropriation in the morning. Smells like horseshit.

Sure enough, an adoptive mom has written a heartwarming book for little children about why they were given up from a perspective that is not her own to use at all…

View original post 636 more words

2 thoughts on “More KidLit for Grown-Ups

Leave a Reply

