autism’s siblings: what a 7-year-old has to say about autism and her brother

Adding pressure to a child’s life by ‘interviewing’ them about a sibling seems to me to add an element they could do without – as I often query, who is it for? And what is it for? I have distinct memories of those adoptive parents who set up monthly questionnaires for adoptees on how they are doing as adopters!! And on how the adoptees are doing in adoption! We need to know – why? There are plenty of qualified and unqualified adults who will judge us, why invite our children to do so!

lovin' adoptin'

autism siblings: what a 7-year-old has to say about autism and her brotherAfter reading an article on Huffington Post titled, “My Sons Love Their Sister but Not Autism,” I decided to ask my non-autistic daughter a question.

I thought Payton would have a different perspective so I asked, “Payton, do you like autism?” Payton answered, “Yes.” Then I shared with her what I’d told the nursing staff at the hospital where I speak on autism. I had told the nurses that Payton is the best sister I could have asked for Jeremiah. I went on to tell her how amazing she is, and how much she understands autism.

She smiled, thought for a few moments and said, “Another sister might have loved Jeremiah, but may not have understood Jeremiah.”

This video stemmed from that conversation. I wanted to share this 7-year-olds perspective on autism.

We went through the questions only once before this interview. There are some things Payton said during…

View original post 238 more words

5 thoughts on “autism’s siblings: what a 7-year-old has to say about autism and her brother

  1. From what you’ve shared here before regarding your opinions on adoption, I’m not surprised you said this. Payton was not pressured in ANY way to do this. My motives were exactly what I stated in the post. Sorry you didn’t see her heart in this. All answers were hers and her opinions. Although I know much of what she believes comes from her environment, including both home and school. In fact I kept having to put off this interview because of other issues that arose in life, and she was always so bummed and couldn’t wait to share her thoughts. She’s an amazing girl and never pressured in her thoughts on autism.

    • I clearly saw her heart and what a good one it appears to be. I was referring to the pressure we put on children, unknowingly sometimes, because they want to please us, to fit in, to be good kids, to have acceptable views in their environment etc. This has nothing to do with adoption nor did I say it did and I’m sad you have made that assumption about me and my views.

  2. Pingback: Curt | The Life Of Von

Leave a Reply

