Lambing, 2015: no two years are ever the same

Francis keeps his feet on the ground. Enjoy!

Francis Pryor - In the Long Run

Young Lleyn lambs. These are slightly smaller than in previous years. Young Lleyn lambs. These are slightly smaller than in previous years.

I’ll discuss the actual lambs and their mothers shortly, but I want to start with what you might think is a digression, but is nothing of the sort. In fact I sometimes think it’s the main reason I like to do practical things such as tending a garden and running a small farm. It was also why I decided to become a field archaeologist: somebody who worked out of doors with his hands. I don’t know, maybe it’s the Buddhist lurking deep within my secular psyche, but I have always found physical work the greatest aid to thought. Put me in a library and my mind usually goes blank.  No, for whatever reason, my imagination works overtime when I’m actually doing something useful. Physical work also helps me relax and of course it keeps me fit. But most of…

View original post 1,107 more words

Leave a Reply

