Interview With Contributing Author, Von Coates from the Adoptee Survival Guide Anthology:

Paige interviews your Blogger. Thanks Paige ❤

Akin to the Truth: A Memoir of Adoption and Identity

#flipthescript

1-  Hi Von,  Please tell us about where you were born, to where you’ve moved, your current family?

I was born in Adelaide in a maternity hospital, then known for admitting ‘poor’ women and those who were unmarried. My mother was in the RAAF and transferred to a Mother and Baby Home some months before my birth. She had to scrub floors and undertake any work she was given in exchange for her keep. I was raised not far away from where I was born in a small village  outside the city and regularly visited the town where my parents met and where I was conceived, although I didn’t know that for 50 years! When I was 21 I went to live in London, then Bristol, Nottingham and finally a small Derbyshire village, before returning home, after nearly 30 years away!

At my age I am now the oldest in my…

View original post 1,918 more words

One thought on “Interview With Contributing Author, Von Coates from the Adoptee Survival Guide Anthology:

  1. Pingback: Interview With Contributing Author, Von Coates from the Adoptee Survival Guide Anthology: | laramie harlow: researcher-adoptee

Leave a Reply

