The First Day of Spring

Ah! The nostalgia!! Life in rural England – home of my ancestors which lives vividly in my memory. I don’t suppose I’ll ever see it again but my many years there will never be erased and I’m so lucky to be familiar with my heritage. I passed frequently within a few miles of the family village where many generations are buried and their plaques record 300 years of their details for posterity.

Francis Pryor - In the Long Run

As a gardener and farmer I prefer the simple way that meteorologists assign the seasons: three months each, with Winter consisting of December, January and February; Spring: March to May;  Summer: June to August; and Autumn: September to November. So using this system, last Sunday, March 1st, was the first day of spring. It was very cold and clear, with that bright March sunlight that seems to lift everything.  So I grabbed my iPad and took four photos that I thought would characterise the day, and the early spring season. We’re told that 2014-15 has been an average British winter: December was much warmer than normal; January was normal and February has been colder than normal. And early March is no warmer than late February. In fact the forecast warns of snow showers tonight, spreading down from Scotland, where I gather the late winter has…

View original post 648 more words

Leave a Reply

