Mothers and Adoptees have right to access honest birth certificate

Here in SA we are lucky enough to have access to our BC’s but most likely our father’s name will not have been recorded if we were bastards. The BC is such an insult and if you are lucky enough to have both real and fake ones as I do, there is no connection between them. Nothing to show this is the same person because it was designed to wipe out that evidence and make us different people. It hits home for me particularly today as I am renewing my passport and as proof of identity have to show my afather’s BC!! How bizarre is that? I’m annoyed, I’m angry and triggered badly today. I cannot pretend otherwise and if I get through lodging my application at 3pm without tears I’ll be very surprised. A hot topic still for so many!

Apology Alliance Australia

The birth certificate that is issued to an adoptee is the only legal document that is allowed to lie. It is a fraudulent document in that its purpose is to deceive.  The birth certificate removes from history the real mother and father and records the names of two biological strangers as the parents. It pretends that it was they who  are responsible for the birth of the child.  It is a  legal fiction.  The real mother and father are thus rendered invisible.  And is possibly why the legal scholar, Robert Ludbrook, stated to the Law Reform Commission in 1994, that an adoption certificate was akin to a property deed, in that it reflected a transference of ownership rather than a person’s true heritage.

A birth certificate is a powerful symbol of a person’s identity. Every human being has an inherent need to know from where they came. Knowing who we are is an inherent right that…

View original post 522 more words

4 thoughts on “Mothers and Adoptees have right to access honest birth certificate

  1. Von, I am with you on this…and will stand by you at 3 pm as you hand in the fictitious, cruel, and annihilating documentation. The feeling of non-existence and re-scripting reaches deep and opens wide and hardly bearable wounds. Thinking of you…

    • Thank you so much my friend, I truly appreciate it. I’ll get out my adoptee bracelets which I bought to wear to the Apology, representing all who were walking with me. They stood me in good stead that day so hope it works today. The wounds are surprising – somehow I’d thought it was all ok now but it seems it never will be.

  2. Pingback: Excellent comments re Baby Gammy’s Post & need for integrated Birth Certificate | Apology Alliance Australia

Leave a Reply

