Booby Traps and Land Mines, Part II: In Case You Were Curious

Melynda tells it how it was for her to give up her child for adoption…..

Letters to Ms. Feverfew

boobytrap I spent some more time reading through the journal I found yesterday. I say “journal” and some might think it was some leather bound volume with carefully lined pages, but really, it’s just a 70-page spiral notebook I wrote in during that time period.  The entries begin on September 16, 1993 and end on January 2, 1994. Here’s a very small sampling of excerpts.

On September 21, 1993, approximately six months after caving to the pressures of the LDS community in which I lived, I copied Isaiah 49:21 into my journal. 

“Then shalt thou say in thine heart: Who hath begotten me these, seeing as I have lost my children and am desolate, a captive, and removing to and fro?”

I go on to say, “I am very sad today about Bear (my nickname for my relinquished daughter). Yesterday wasn’t much better. I miss her so much. I miss…

View original post 1,295 more words

Leave a Reply

