On adoption activism (IV).

“So we might acknowledge that our acculturation is rather loathe to get into the messy, muddy, nasty, down-and-dirty of adoption and of a discussion thereof. And we might also see that we can describe this state of “fear and loathing” rather statically or passively, as simple observers, or we might hold it up as an action point, something to work on. The point I would like to make is that it is too soon to parcel up adoption as simply another “topic of discussion”. We have not plumbed its abysmal depths, nor heard from all who have been affected by it.”

Daniel Drennan ElAwar

In a blog post by Rebecca Hawkes at “Sea Glass and Other Fragments” [link], I have been referred to as a “burnt-out activist adoptee”, seemingly by virtue of my own words. I think this discussion of those who speak as compared to those who remain silent is a great one. Nonetheless, I felt the need to post a response (as I often do), and it has grown into a much longer reply (as it often does), and so I am posting it here with the hope that it might raise discussion, and I thank Rebecca for acknowledging my statement, and for bringing up the issue. I also apologize for straying a bit from the original topic, again, as I am wont to do, but I think there are tangential points which need be brought forward.

View original post 4,767 more words

Leave a Reply

