On the inherent racism and classism of adoption.

The Blogger’s return…..

Daniel Drennan ElAwar

I will preface this by saying that I had promised myself I would give myself a long break from writing about adoption, for psychological-becoming-physical health reasons; the past 10 years have taken their toll, and I need to take a step back. All the same, I found it imperative to add some “talking points” to the discussion of race, class, and adoption that have been brought up recently, and to open up the discussion concerning the individual and communal nature of communication, as well as the various levels of adoptive racism and classism that go largely unspoken.

But first, as a bit of a tangential note: I recently found myself in a bit of an imbroglio on the discussion boards of the blog of fellow adoptee and esteemed colleague Laura Dennis. I don’t want to drag up the whole discussion again, but I do want to comment on the nature…

View original post 3,986 more words

2 thoughts on “On the inherent racism and classism of adoption.

Leave a Reply

