Signing on to the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014

Australian Women Writers challenge – join and support our women!

looking up/looking down

Yesterday I learned that a leading Australian bookseller had confessed to not having read a single book by a female Australian writer in 2013. Apparently, nothing interested him. And he didn’t like the covers. So yes, I am signing up for this year’s Australian Women Writers Challenge, a challenge established in 2012  to raise awareness of the exciting and varied work of Australia’s women writers and to redress the gender imbalance in book reviewing in major publications that stats tell us still exists. You can read more about the challenge here.

As I did in 2013, I’m opting for the Franklin level—a commitment to read at least ten books by Australian women writers and to review at least six. In 2014 I hope to better my 2013 totals of twenty-three read and six reviewed.

Already I have a pile of books I want to read, and a long…

View original post 47 more words

One thought on “Signing on to the Australian Women Writers Challenge 2014

Leave a Reply

