On trauma, memory, community, place. | 25/31

Tolerance and the security of Being.

Daniel Drennan ElAwar

The following is from a series of musings on trauma, memory, community, and place. The introduction to the series and beginning essay [link] explains the purpose of this month of entries.

I remember my neighborhood was pretty diverse growing up.

For this I am incredibly thankful.

I don’t mean to say this made it easier for a transracial adoptee.

Because it didn’t.

I mean to say this made me aware that there was something outside of the dominant cultural mode.

At least on a subconscious level.

View original post 2,304 more words

Leave a Reply

