Nursing The Soul

In my family, one of our members likes to say occasionally “You learn something every day if you’re not careful”. It has truth. Yesterday I learned that some music has a double echo and that it’s PC now to call people of small stature dwarves, unless you’re Miley and deemed to be using a backing band as a gimmick. By the way, a good Naturopath could sort out that unhealthy looking tongue and cure that iron deficiency. LOL!
Learning never stops does it? Adoptee-Me seems to be still learning very day and yesterday was taken to task for wanting to play down a ‘funny turn’ experienced during the afternoon. My arm and leg acted as if someone had turned off the switch for a moment. A bit scary and it shook me. I wasn’t going to tell my Daughter, didn’t want to worry her for nothing. It came out during the course of the evening and I was firmly given my instructions. Chastened, I realised Adoptee-Me was still trying to be a ‘good girl’, not bother anyone and disappear into the woodwork. I had to be made aware that these people who love me, are my family and care about me, deserve better. They need to be kept informed, told the truth and be allowed to make decisions about what they do.
Here we go again! Advice for adopters – Speak with the staff at the hospital where the baby will be born and let the head nurse, lactation consultant, and pediatrician know of your plan to breast feed the baby. The goal is to be able to start nursing within the first 30 minutes after birth. This may not be possible, but the earlier you start, the better. If it is not possible to breastfeed the baby immediately after birth, request that he be fed by cup or finger feeding, rather than by bottle

Top Ten Tips for Breastfeeding Your Adopted Child.

It seems every time this topic is raised, adult adoptees are repulsed by the idea and are relieved their amothers didn’t do something so gross! Adopters appear to ignore any information or advice on breastfeding adoptees unless it is what they wish to hear and plough on because they want to do it. I have seen advice from lactation consultants suggesting the adopter persists for 6 months if the adoptee shows resistance!! I call that abusive! How about you?
https://www.breastfeeding.asn.au/bfinfo/adoption.html
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/13/adoptive-breastfeeding_n_3682363.html
And the experience of an adoptee mother – http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/07/25/for-an-adoptee-parent-breastfeeding-as-revelation/?_r=0

3 thoughts on “Nursing The Soul

  1. I don’t know how I feel about this – I was 5 when I was adopted so it wouldn’t have been appropriate in my case for sure – I guess it could theoretically help develop a closer bond between the adoptee and the adopter – but my gut feeling is that the adopter would get most out it…….

    • It certainly seems so Roy from what many adoptees have been saying for the last few years when it’s been an open topic.They’re repulsed and generally say they’re so glad their amother didn’t try it. Like many things it is not for the child on close examination but for the adult who imposes it on an innocent child who cannot refuse but often tries by turning away, refusing to suck and being disintersted. It figures – wrong smell, wrong formula, wrong body, wrong everything.

  2. The ABA page says it may take more than a year to convince your adopted child this is a good idea. Very obviously not being done for the child…and yes, the idea creeps me out.

Leave a Reply

