Operation Nightingale

Yesterday I wrote of it being a challenging week with my posts being tough going and promised something lighter for post 333. It has certainly been a wonderful week here at Poddler’s Creek. It began with Mother’s Day, an event I didn’t write about at the time, out of respect for all those of you who have difficulty with it and find it hard to get through. It has certainly been that way for me in the past. My now grown up Daughter was born to a man who said he didn’t believe in Mother’s Day and that since I was not his mother he refused to celebrate it or my achievement of motherhood after a number of miscarriages, including one late one. It was callous in the extreme and something I took many years to recover from. I then had to deal with my relation to my own mother and my adoption, that took another decade or so! Last year was the first year I didn’t have a melt-down of some kind and I certainly didn’t this year or even approach it. It was a happy day, finally, and I really feel I’ve earned the right to celebrate and enjoy it.
My beautiful Daughter gave me the best gift of all – the gift of her time! She slept over on Saturday in order to be with me in the morning. She made me tea and went with whatever I wanted to do. She presented me with a large, white, glossy box (I adore nice packaging!) and inside there were a number of separately wrapped gifts. At her suggestion, after a lovely breakfast with my Godson, a young teen, and his family, we drove to our favourite beach and had our favourite pastries and coffee from a local, very popular and appreciated bakery.
‘Our’ beach has seen four generations of our family and we have all adored it, had a deep connection to it and visit it whenever we can. Some of us have lived there and some camped there every Summer. My beloved aGrandfather and his family assisted the archeologists and fossil hunters who set up our State Museum collection of fossils, many still neatly labelled and on display with the original labels last time I looked. The fossils that is, not the collectors! I have photographs of the camp and the dig, black and white of course, carefully preserved in a leather-bound album with hand-tooled cover, done by my aGrandmother, probably around 1912, before my aGrandfather went to the War as an Army Dentist. Teeth needed attention before the soldiers got shipped off to the trenches. Survival was precarious enough without toothache as well! Living history is a beautiful thing, those connections to the past and to people who went before us are so valuable. They may be our biological relatives or maybe not, but if we are lucky, we learn to accept all as family and contributors to who we are and who we have become.
I am a great fan of Time Team and was very impressed with the program on Operation Nightingale and the way in which archeology has helped soldiers wounded in Afghanistan to find purpose in their lives, to achieve and to get back on track. Soldiers badly wounded, wheelchair users with missing limbs, smashed bodies and minds are able to contribute in a way which has value and importance. It is a far cry from basket weaving!

Archaeology News : Operation Nightingale – Two worlds collide! | Heritage Daily – Latest Archaeology News and Archaeological Press Releases : Archaeology Press Releases.

http://www.timeteamdigital.com/digs/operation-nightingale
http://www.dmasuk.org/
I’ll leave you with this and hope you have a peaceful Sunday.

0 thoughts on “Operation Nightingale

Leave a Reply

